Conference Agenda

eea® Medeea International Conference
Thursday 16th May 2013 (08:00 - 16:45)
(Bus transfer has been arranged. Departure areas: Holiday Inn at 8:00 am and Hilton Hotel 8:20 am. Participants staying in Royiatiko or Centrum Hotels should depart from Holiday Inn)
Venue: Cyprus International ('Filoxenia') Conference Centre, Lefkosia
Languages: Simultaneous interpretation to Greek, English, Italian and Spanish
08:00 - 09:00
09:00 - 09:15
Welcome Speeches
Mrs. Anthi Charalambous - Director of Cyprus Energy Agency
Dr. Maria Fabianelli - Director of the Agenzia regionale per l'Energia della Liguria (Energy Agency ARE Liguria)
Panel Discussion: Local Authorities' commitments towards sustainability
Moderator: Mrs. Anthi Charalambous, Cyprus Energy Agency
09:15 - 10:15
Mr. Kyriakos Hadjittofis, Member of the Committee of the Regions
Mrs. Irini Loizidou Nikolaidou, Vice president of the monitoring Committee of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe
Mrs. Constantia Constantinou, Planning Officer, Directorate of Structural Funds and Cohesion Fund, Planning Bureau, Cyprus
Mr. Paraskevas Anastasiou, Head of Energy Policy Department, Cyprus Employers & Industrialists Federation (OEB)
Mr. Theodoulos Mesimeris, Head of Climate Change, Department of Environment
10:15 - 10:45
10:45 - 11:00
Coffee Break
Exchange of experiences between Local Authorities at European Level
Moderator: Mrs. Roberta Casapietra, Energy Agency ARE Liguria
11:00 - 11:15
"Best practices and examples" - Municipality of Albenga - Italy
Mr. Guido Lugani, Councillor for Environment
Mr. Giuseppe Marchese, Environmental Department
11:15 - 11:25
"Transferable lessons learnt" - Beltinci Municipality - Slovenia
Dr. Matej Gomboši, Mayor of Beltinci Municipality, Slovenia
11:25 - 11:35
"Mobility Plan" - Municipality of Olhão - Portugal
Mr. Fernando Laranjo Martins, Energy Manager - Olhão Municipality - Portugal
11:35 - 11:45
Implementation of measures - Larnaca Municipality - Cyprus
Mr. Andreas Louroutziatis – Mayor of Larnaca Municipality – Cyprus
11:45 - 11:55
"Best cases in Andalucía Region" - Municipality of Villarrodrigo - Jaen - Spain
Mr. Ángel Vera Sandoval, Councilor of Villarrodrigo and Representative of Jaen County Council
11:55 - 12:05
"Local Authorities Exchange of Experiences" - Municipality of Marsaskala - Malta
Mr. John Baptist Camilleri - Municipality of Marsaskala
12:05 - 12:20
"Best cases" - Municipalities of Heraclion and Hersonisos, Crete - Greece
Mr. Ioannis Kourakis, Mayor of Heraklion Municipality
Mr. Zacharias Doxastakis, Mayor of Hersonisos Municipality
Mr. Georgios Marinakis, Mayor of Rethymno Municipality
Mr. Constantinos Mamoulakis, Mayor of Malevizi Municipality
Mrs. Maria Petrakogiorgi, Mayor of Festos Municipality
12:20 - 13:00
13:00 - 14:30
Networking Lunch
Facilitating Sustainable Local Energy Planning
Moderator: Dr. Nikolas Zografakis, Region of Crete, Energy Agency
14:30 - 14:50
"Financial opportunities within the framework of next financial perspectives 2014-2020"
Mr. Adonis Constantinides, Head of the Special Task Force for Programming of ESI Funds 2014-20 at Planning Bureau, Government of the Republic of Cyprus
14:50 - 15:10
Regional and Environmental Policy
Mrs. Thea Pieridou, Representation of the European Commission in Cyprus
15:10 - 15:30
"ELENA and EEE-F financial instruments"
Mrs. Anthi Charalambous, Director, Cyprus Energy Agency
15:10 - 15:30
"Application to EEE-F for a Street Lighting Project in Cyprus"
Mr. Ioannis Papageorgiou, Network Engineer, Networks Business Unit, Electricity Authority of Cyprus
Mr. Savvas Vlachos, Energy Expert, Cyprus Energy Agency
15:50 - 16:20
16:20 - 16:30
Closing remarks
Dr. Maria Fabianelli – Director of the Agenzia regionale per l'Energia della Liguria (Energy Agency ARE Liguria)
Bus transfer of the participants to Hilton Hotel and Holiday Inn Hotel (Participants staying in Royiatiko or Centrum Hotels should get off at Holiday Inn)

Cyprus International ('Filoxenia') Conference Centre Details

General Information

The Cyprus International Conference Centre formed the basis of the Presidency in Cyprus and has hosted most of the meetings held in Cyprus. The 'Filoxenia' is a space with a maximum capacity of 500 people and is composed of a central conference Zenon Kitieus, the auditorium conference Kerynia hall, other smaller meeting rooms and spaces.

The building has a modern electronic system, such as conference translation system and booths, video conferencing, high quality audiovisual, security; Wi-Fi and catering services.

Food & Beverage

There are 3 restaurants within the Convention Centre: Olive (lunches Ministers), Pentadaktylos and Chalkos.

Meeting Facilities

The 'Filoxenia' Conference Centre meeting rooms can accommodate 10 parallel sessions while also providing space for a number of syndicate rooms for boardroom and break-out meetings:


  • From the Conference centre to City centre: 3.3 km, 7 minutes
  • From the Conference centre to Larnaca International Airport: 49 km, 35 minutes
  • From the Conference centre to Paphos International Airport: 141 km, 1hour 34 minutes
  • From the Conference centre to General Hospital: 5.4 km, 9 minutes
  • From the Conference centre to Cyprus Museum: 3.6 km, 7 minutes
  • Transportation: City Bus Stop near the Conference centre

Click here to view the Location Map